Heather Campbell
Director of Education



Dianne McCormack Board Chair

MAIN OFFICE: 522 SECOND ST. E., FORT FRANCES, ON, P9A 1N4 Telephone: (807) 274-9855 FAX (807) 274-5078 Toll Free 1-800-214-1753

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

December 4, 2019

Rainy River District School Board re-elects Chair and Vice Chair

The Rainy River District School Board is pleased to announce that elections for the office of Chair and Vice Chair were held at the Board Meeting on December 3, 2019 in Fort Frances.

Trustee, Raymond Roy, was acclaimed as Board Chair, while Trustee, David Kircher, was acclaimed as Vice Chair. Both trustees represent the Town of Fort Frances and unorganized territory east of Fort Frances.

Trustee, Kathryn Pierroz, was acclaimed as the Ontario Public School Board Association (OPSBA) Representative. As a trustee, she represents the Townships of Alberton and La Vallee, and the communities of Miscampbell, Dance, Lake Despair, and Griesinger.

Trustee, David Kircher, was acclaimed as the Alternate OPSBA Representative.

Trustees are elected by public school taxpayers every four years during municipal elections. The current Rainy River District School Board of Trustees was elected to serve from December 1, 2018 to November 14, 2022. The office of Chair and Vice Chair are elected by the Board of Trustees each year at the December Board Meeting.

Senior administration staff of the Rainy River District School Board congratulates Raymond Roy, David Kircher, and Kathryn Pierroz on their appointments, and thanks all Board trustees for their commitment to student well-being and achievement.

-30-

Media Contact:

Raymond Roy, Board Chair, Rainy River District School Board (807) 274-9855

Reference:

Heather Latter, Community Outreach Officer, Rainy River District School Board (807) 274-9855 ext. 4989

Mission: "Together, we empower all students to believe in themselves, to achieve, and to dream."

Vision: "The Rainy River District School Board is an innovative community, nurturing hearts and minds,
to build a foundation for tomorrow, today."